Skip to content

Sankara meen/Red snapper fish curry

September 10, 2015

Sankara meen kozhambhu Recipe: It’s been quite sometime since we moved here to Mumbai. I was longing to make sankara fish curry and I have been hunting for a proper fish market. My husband usually gets sear fish and he is not so comfortable with the fish names. He prefers outsouring the buying dept to me. And to my dismay, whenever I go, there wont be any selling happening in the market. And When I tell my husband that there’s no fish selling there, he use to make expression as if I’m gone crazy. It’s later that I found out that they sell in the noon time whereas I go early in the morning.

So I decided to pick Sarah from school and go directly to fish market. And we did. My kid was thrilled to see so many varieties of fish. Infact, I was more thrilled. I got these medium sized Sankara fish(Red Snapper) for curry and white pomfret for fry.

I just love the taste of my moms preparation – I called her and got the exact quantity of ingredients for making the curry. It turned out extremely good and  I really felt at home.

Red snapper fish, sankara meen   Red snapper fish, sankara meen

Ingredients:

5-6 medium sized Sankara fish(each cut into two)
2 medium sized tomato (finely chopped)
2 medium sized onion (finely chopped)
6-7 garlic pods
2 green chillies
Lemon size tamarind (soaked in water and juice extracted)
2 tblspn red chilly powder
3 tblspn coriander powder
1 tspn mustard seeds
1/2 tspn cummin seeds
1/2 tspn fenugreek seeds
1 stalk of curry leaves
Few coriander leaves

Method:

  1. Heat 3-4 tblspn oil in a kadai. Add the mustard seeds to splutter. Now add the cummin seeds, fenugreek seeds and curry leaves.
  2. Now add the onions and garlic. Sauté until the onions become golden brown.
  3. Now add tomatoes, turneric powder, salt and cook in medium flame for 3-4 minutes with closed lid.
  4. As the tomatoes turn mushy, add the green chillies. Sauté for a minute and then add the spices – chilli powder, coriander powder. Sauté for a minute.
  5. Now add the tamarind juice and 1 cup water. Let it cook in medium flame for another 10-15 minutes.
  6. When the curry starts to bubble, add the fish and cook in medium flame for 5 minutes. Switch off the stove.
  7. Sprinkle finely chopped fresh coriander leaves on top of the fish curry and serve hot with steamed rice.

Note: 

  1. To enhance taste add tempered vadavam(dry seasoning ) to the curry towards the end.
  2. Use Gingelly for more taste and health benefits.

Happy Cooking!

From → Curry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

