Skip to content

Snake Gourd with Roasted Grams

November 4, 2015

Snake Gourd with Roasted gram: In one of my previous post I have mentioned about using roasted gram powder as final addition to the snake gourd side dish recipe. I got these thinner and longer snake gourds available here in the nearby local market. They are really soft and tender – they also seem to cook faster.

Today, with no prior planning, I made preparations to cook an accompaniment for my tangy okra gravy and steamed rice. I washed and cleaned the vegetable. Thought, I could make snake gourd with bengal grams. It’s then, I realised there was no stock left. I didn’t have coconut either to go with the preparation. I saw roasted grams on my shelf – It’s then my mom’s roasted grams recipe came to my mind that I have long forgotten.

In less then 10 minutes my snack gourd side dish was ready and we had a pretty decent lunch.

snake gourd side dish

Ingredients:
1&1/2 cup tender snake gourd (chopped)
1/2 medium sized onion (finely chopped)
1/2 tspn mustard seeds
1 tspn cummin seeds
1 green chilly
1 sprig of curry leaves
1 tblspn roasted grams powder(coarsely ground)
Salt to taste

Method:

  1. Coarsely grind the roasted grams in a mixer and keep aside.
  2. Heat 2 tblspn oil in a pan. Add the mustard seeds to splutter. Then add cumin seeds, curry leaves, green chilly and the onions.
  3. Sauté until the onions become translucent. At this stage add the snake gourd, salt and little water. Close the lid and cook in medium flame for 7-8 minutes. Stir in between
  4. Open the lid and stir in high flame for a minute, So that the moisture gets evaporated completely.
  5. Switch off the stove and spread the roasted gram powder over the cooked snake gourd, while it’s still hot.
  6. Stir the cooked snake gourd and roasted gram powder together, so that they mix well.
  7. Serve as a side dish for sambar/ rasam/karakuzhambhu.

Happy Cooking!

From → Side dish

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

