Skip to content

Diwali Sweet – Coconut Barfi

November 11, 2015

Coconut Barfi:

As I walked through the streets of Navi Mumbai, I saw heaps&heaps of orange, yellow and white flowers, lamps and rangoli color powders sold in every nook and corner. I felt the air filled with festive mood all around. For a second, in my mind, my kid playing with color powders and her happy face flipped through. Needless to say, this got into me and I purchased lamps & colour powders.

There were not much of cracker shops around – For every good reason, felt that we are moving in the right direction of celebrating Diwali with less noise and more lights. However, my kid likes sparkles and my husband has picked a bunch on his way from office.

With all set, I want to make it complete with  a home made sweet. I got some direction in making coconut burfi from one of my college friend. All thanks to her.

The sweet came out well and here goes the recipe.

coconut barfi

Ingredients:
1 cup grated coconut
little more than 1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
2 tbspn ghee
1 cardamom

Preparation:

  1. Grease a plate with ghee and keep aside
  2. Coarsely blend the grated coconut in a mixer without adding water. Keep aside.

Method:

  1. Add water and sugar in a pan. Heat it in medium flame. The sugar would melt and sugar syrup would start to bubble.
  2. When the sugar syrup reaches one thread consistency, add coarsely blend coconut, ghee and crushed cardamom to it.
  3. Keep stirring, till the coconut mix becomes dry and none sticking on the pan. At this stage switch off the stove and transfer it to the greased plate.
  4. Even out using back of the spoon or knife. Cut it into square or any shape of your desire. Allow it to rest for atleast an hour or so.
  5. After its completely set, gently scrap the coconut burfi from the greased plate and serve.

 coconut barfi

Happy Cooking!

From → Sweets

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

