salmon fish curry kaala meen kozhambhu

Kaala meen Kozhambhu/Salmon Fish Curry – So delicious!

Kaala Meen Kozhambhu/Salmon Fish Curry – I’m a regular customer of the local fish market. It used to be once a week visit and slowly it turned out to be thrice a week visit with my kanyakumari friend to hang out. I just simply love to spend time looking around the fish stall before deciding on to purchase what I wanted. With months of frequent visit to fish market, just by looking at the fish, I’m now able to identify the once that are fresh and that are not.  I usually don’t decide on the fish I’m going to buy from the market beforehand. I may have some preferences though – My preferences are tuna, salmon, anchovies for their Omega3 content and of course their beautiful taste. After looking at how fresh the fishes are, I would decide to buy them.

Nothing equals the taste of the curry made out of fresh fishes.This time, I was lucky enough to get one big fresh salmon and made a curry of it – I have made the traditional South Indian way of mixing all the ingredients together in a vessel and cooking them first without any sauting. Once the curry is nicely cooked, seasoning is added on the top. Salmon curry tastes good with steamed rice and chappati.

Way back I have posted Sankara meen/Red snapper fish curry  and the method of preparation is quiet different from the one I have posted today. Both preparation are delicious and a must try for the viewers.

Ingredients:
8-10 pieces of salmon fish(3 inch piece is good for curry)
10 small onion
3-4 garlic pods
2 green chillies
3 tblspn grated coconut
1 tspn cummin seeds
1 lemon sized tamarind(soak for 10 minutes in water and strain to get tamarind juice)
1/2 tspns turmeric powder
2 big tomatoes(make tomato puree)
2 tblspn chilli powder
2 tblspn coriander powder
few sprigs of curry leaves
1 tspn mustard seeds
1 red chilly

Grinding:
Grind the onions, garlic pods, grated coconut and cummin seeds together into a fine paste and keep aside

Method:
1. Take tamarind juice in a vessel and add tomato puree, chilli powder, coriander powder, turmeric, salt . Then add some wate and mix all the ingredients. Now add the split green chilli and let it boil.
2. After 10 minutes of boiling, add the ground paste and let it boil for another five minutes. Now add the fish and keep it in simmer for 8-10 minutes until all the ingredients blend together and the fish is cooked. Switch off the stove.
3. In a separate pan, heat 3 tblspn sesame oil and add the mustard seeds to splutter. Then add the red chilly and curry leaves. Now the seasoning is ready.
4. Drizzle the seasoning over the fish curry and serve hot with steamed rice

Happy cooking!

One thought on “Kaala meen Kozhambhu/Salmon Fish Curry – So delicious!

Leave a comment